Archive

Archive for December 23, 2010

The Pointlessness of Rejecting Christmas

December 23, 2010 17 comments

Christmas was always about the excess. It was never about religion.

Xenocrates

 

Christmas Decorations

While talking with an atheist recently, he shared something with me that I thought was rather profound. He suggested that even though he doesn’t believe in God, he still goes to church, he still continues to search for Easter Eggs, and even puts up a Christmas tree. I found this to be perplexing given his convictions. So I asked him how he could reconcile this given his unbelief. He said, quite frankly, that mythology was never originally intended for what we now use it for.  It is today’s religious zealots who would have us believe otherwise.

That blew my mind. Here’s why:

Read more…