Home > Life > It’s My Birthday!

It’s My Birthday!


Today is my birthday. There will be no party, no dinner with the missus, no special event or family gathering to commemorate the event, and yet, I find myself to be very happy and strangely content. I chalk that one up to maturity – particularly one that after 3 decades on this planet, has demonstrated time and again, that happiness is an inside job. I am excited for no good reason.

…and it drives my gal pal nuts!

If only she could understand the amazing things that go on inside my head – things so profound I haven’t quite discovered language constructs to properly express them. I’m not happy because of the dozens of friends that have expressed kind wishes for me today. It’s not what I have or what I have not. I’m happy because I have a talent it seems to find true contentment in myself.

That’s probably the greatest birthday gift of all. Have a great day everyone, whether it’s your birthday or not. I know I’ll certainly be enjoying myself later.

Cheers,
Xen.

Categories: Life Tags: ,
  1. May 12, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Happy birthday! And where have you been?

  2. May 9, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Belated Happy Birthday! I just celebrated 6 decades on this planet (Cinco de Mayo). And I understand exactly what you mean by “happiness is an inside job.”

    We each create our own emotions whether or not we’re aware of it. Greater awareness, however, is powerful medicine.

    On one occasion, when I was feeling atypically blue, I created exhiliration out of nothing at all — sort of like hammering in a nail, pure cause-and-effect.

    Genesis 1:26 states that man was created in God’s image. Most of the believers, however, don’t take that to its logical conclusion. God, it seems to me, is a non-physical, immortal and spiritual source of creation. That would make us non-physical, immortal and spiritual sources of creation. Yep, baby gods. Only later does it talk about creating Homo sapiens. And on one occasion, Jesus had to remind his enemies that it is written, “ye are gods.” Therefore, creating is second nature to us, yet most of us have forgotten how. I’ve remembered on occasion, and each incident proves our spiritual nature, for only a spiritual source of creation could circumvent or bend the laws of physical reality.

    We tend to create what we have our attention on. In business seminars, attendees learn to write their goals in a very specific, proven format. And the mechanics of creation start with a picture (blueprint, template, or pattern), and then the faith and humility to let go of that picture — to let it manifest (the product of the creation, the finished building, or object).

    I’ve already learned so much, this lifetime, yet my wife keeps teaching me more humility and confidence. And I am such a willing student.

  3. Big A
    May 4, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Happy Birthday. Been following this blog for a few weeks now, and I have to say I am blown away by the writing. The posts tend to be very deep in subject matter and also very engaging. I definitely don’t agree with Everything but I always enjoy reading your well thought out point of view. Happy belated B-day. I hope you enjoyed yourself! Peace friend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

