Home > Society > Shanghai’d in China

Shanghai’d in China


Hey everyone,

You may have noticed that I haven’t updated this space in over a month. Truth be told, I’m in Shanghai, China at the moment on business. Why I agreed to this is beyond me, but here I am. Apparently however, the Communist Government in China has blocked a lot of websites, like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and yes, even WordPress. I think it’s time I hosted this blog on my own domain.

Anyway, the only reason you are able to read this is because I’ve managed to find a proxy site that I could use to bypass this country’s communist attempt at inhibiting free speech (or maybe they have some other justification – perhaps one of you can inform me). Either way, I’ll be here for the better part of two months on consultation with the Chinese Government with respect to governance, policy and a bunch of other stuff.

So there you have it. Now you know why and where. As soon as I get off this side of the planet and return to the liberal West where I rightfully belong, I’m going to rip China a new one. I can promise you that. With that said, this proxy site is a tad slow, and so it doesn’t lend itself to a proper blog post as per my regular M.O. So if you guys have any suggestions, I’m all ears (or eyes, rather).

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Cheers,
Xen.

Categories: Society Tags: , , ,
  1. January 4, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Hey Richard,
    that very same question has been running in my mind for a while now… But what I think is that, most “black” nations and nations that were once colonies to the European empires etc… are probably going through teething pains
    (inclusive of rampant corruption and the like) now after centuries of colonial rule… We still don’t know how to run a proper government and it may take centuries for us to undo what colonialism did and emerge to first world or close to first world status (Or as you put it, be successful).

    The only 2 countries I can think of right now that emerged to first world status after colonial rule are Malaysia and Singapore. Which are of course not “black” nations… ..

    But if you look at it though, there are only a couple of countries that are actually “Successful” and those are the ones in the G8… I am not sure I would call Russia successful though… outside of those countries with the exception of a few… all others are probably poor or near poor.

  2. tulio
    December 25, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Richard, outside of S. Africa, Botswana is probably the most relatively successful African country. The economy there is growing at a fast pace and has been for some time and it has a median income up there with Mexico and Turkey which is pretty good by African standards. It does have a massive AIDS problem however.

Comment pages
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

